Not a Fan…Chapter 6

Standard

Not a Fan.
Chapter 6
Self-Empowered or Spirit–Filled? John 16:7-8

Nevertheless, I am telling you the truth. It is for your benefit that
I go away, because if I don’t go away, the Counselor will not
come to you. If I go, I will send Him to you. When He comes,
He will convict the world about sin, righteousness and judgement.
John 16:7-8

Fans trying to follow without being filled with the power of the Holy Spirit become overwhelmed by life’s circumstances. They seem to be following Christ, but then something in life goes wrong and they don’t have the power to overcome it. Instead of following Christ and sticking close to him in the storm they become discouraged and keep their distance. Pg. 89

idleman

Power to Live or Power to Do Miracles
We need its power to do miracles because we don’t use its power to live.

Jesus says, “It’s better for you if I go”—because while God with you is good, God in you is better.” Jesus could be with his followers; but the Holy Spirit would live in his followers.” Pg. 90

For many of us, the Holy Spirit is all Comfort, No Counsel and No Conviction!

Fans Watch You Tube, Followers make Sacrifices! (Texas Bama)
Many will watch highlights from the Formation Tour on YouTube and other media outlets, but a true follower will purchase a Ticket!

Corporate Worship (Worship on one accord lead and guided by the Holy Spirit)
vs.
Corporate Worship (worship without the cooperation of the Holy Spirit)

Being filled with the power of the Spirit begins with an honest acknowledgement of our own weakness. The truth is that most of us go to great lengths to disguise our weaknesses. Pg. 93

Discipleship: Masters of Illusion
We have become masters of giving the illusion of righteousness.
If Jesus turned over tables and drove out tricksters with a hand fashioned whip, what would He to in today’s church?

The only way to be filled with the Spirit is to empty myself of me. When I empty me of me, it provides space for the Holy Spirit to fill me. Pg. 95

You will be filled, but what you take in, determines what you will be full of!
You are Full of it!

Less of Me, More of You!

No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.
I Corinthians 9:27

 

Guide me, O thou great Jehovah,
pilgrim through this barren land.
I am weak, but thou art mighty;
hold me with thy powerful hand.
Bread of heaven, bread of heaven,
feed me till I want no more;
feed me till I want no more.

Leave a Reply

