Label Everything!

Standard

I stood in the line waiting to give the kitchen staff at Camp Copass my tray.  While there, I was caught by a door which contained labels on each.  One was marked “No” and the other was marked “Yes”.  I thought to myself, if only life was this simple!

See, the “no” and the “yes” of the door was there for easy and simple communication.  Just in case “enter” and “exit” were too much.  Just in case it took too long to read, the organizer of the staff labeled the door to communicate what was right and wrong to the entire staff in its simplest form, “yes” and “no”!

While others looked past these two words, I was caught by them because the “yes” and “no” were out there not for the benefit of one, but for the benefit of all.   

Knowing which door to go through cuts down on accidents.  As a part of the team, the labelson the door leasen the amount of crashes and spills between those on staff.  It enables them to focus on their task as opposed to focusing on what others are doing.  It also enables them to have one less thing to think about as they carry out their jobs!  

Furthermore, less accidents cut down on the amount of injuries to the staff and patrons.   It occurred to me as I looked at these doors that these labels were there to prevent injuries not only to those going in and out, but to those who can within the vicinity of the door.  Yes, while in line, I was in danger of being hurt by the actions of those serving.  Though I would never enter though these doors, the carelessness of one or two could leave me scarred.  The decision or lapse in judgement by a few could result in injuries that might keep me from dining in this establishment in the future. 

Next, labels speeds up productivity.  The marks help the staff to key in on the job and maximize their performance!  Their tasks get the full brunt of their focus as they can walk trough doors with speed and be the most efficient worker they can be.  While others pause before entering and exiting, they are able to walk in and out in freedom knowing that the rules and directions of the house are protecting them.

Last, it builds confidence.  It improves speed by assuring the individual they are coeeect and removes assuming and guessing.  They know each time, despite their memory and or knowledge of the rules, that a brief word can keep them from failing.

(Yep, I’m tempted to go there!  I’m a preacher people!!!  This is the part where I’m supposed to talk about how one Word. Am keep you from falling!  And how your focus on the Word will not only reveal doors, but show you which doors to go theough… and then close withmaking a decision for Christ because your “yes” or “no” has eternal ramifications! But, I won’t). 

I thought about our churches.  Our global body! The conglomerate!  And wondered to myself how much more much further we would be if we could cut down the amount of injuries that happen while we serve?  I wondered how many people were harmed and hurt by two or one person that lost focus while carrying out there task?  I wondered how many people were home healing from the wounded da of one person who placed the importance of their task over the safety of other?  I wondered how many people were hurt while standing in line, and how many one time negative experiences have kept people from “dining at our establishment”?  Maybe it’s not the ministries that we need to improve, but rather the people.  
#pastorjdo3

Leave a Reply

